Outer Banks - first time, 2 days

Old Sep 23rd, 2007, 03:06 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Outer Banks - first time, 2 days

We are going to be spending the weekend (next weekend) near the Outer Banks. I'm a travel photographer specializing in landmarks, and local 'flavor' (not landscape type stuff typically).

Since I've never been anywhere near the East Coast, where would you send me in the Outer Banks area?

We're driving up from Tennessee and will have about 2 days to spend there.

Any constructive suggestions are GREATLY appreciated!
Old Sep 23rd, 2007, 03:33 PM

Hmmm...Outer Banks is a big place...

I'm sure you've already thought of the lighthouses...

How about a fishing pier:
http://www.outerbanksfishing.com/FishingInfo/piers.htm

Or head to Oregon Inlet when the fishing charters come in:
http://www.oregon-inlet.com/

Possibly Jockey's Ridge (and the kite store across the street):
http://ils.unc.edu/parkproject/visit/jori/home.html

I know you said you aren't into landscapes, but there are tow very interesting wildlife preserves, Pea Island and Nagshead Woods:
http://tinyurl.com/yue8zn
http://www.fws.gov/peaisland/
Old Sep 23rd, 2007, 03:38 PM
Original Poster

Awesome links - thank you! Very helpful.
Old Sep 24th, 2007, 09:16 AM

Yes, the Outer Banks is a very big place. For your first visit ever, I would probably stay in the Nags Head/Kill Devil Hills area. There is a lot to see and do there, with the Wright Brothers monument and the famous dunes and kites and all.
Old Sep 24th, 2007, 09:39 AM

Try to have dinner one night at Owen's, I believe it's the longest family run restaurant in the area: http://www.owensrestaurant.com/. We really enjoyed our dinner there.
Old Sep 25th, 2007, 06:51 AM

Hmmm....it's been a couple of years since I've been to the Outer Banks, but last time I was there I saw an interesting little local "landmark" that might make an interesting photo or two.