Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   large baggage on Amtrak Regional (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/large-baggage-on-amtrak-regional-954438/)

im2fast4u Oct 23rd, 2012 05:30 AM

large baggage on Amtrak Regional

Hi,
This is my first time on an Amtrak train. My wife and I would be travelling from Wilmington, Delaware to BWI (Baltimore) airport on an Amtrak Regional and again from Union Station Washington DC to Wilmington, Delaware. Both are regional trains. We have one large bag with about 32" tall. We can carry-on 2 handbag for each of us with max size 28". Would I be able to carry the big bag? Can the conductor deny carrying the big bag on board.

dwooddon Oct 23rd, 2012 05:55 AM

I have traveled many times on various regionals and have never had a problem with bringing my large suitcase. Most single-level regional cars don't have dedicated baggage racks but they do have spaces between bulkheads and seats and, since most regional traffic is local, I have never had a problem finding space for my suitcase there.

tchoiniere Oct 23rd, 2012 06:43 AM

You will be able to bring it onboard. There is room in the front of the car for large bags if you cannot fit it above your seat in the luggage rack.

nytraveler Oct 23rd, 2012 08:43 AM

There is no way a 32" bag would fit on the overhead - and I'm not sure about a 28". I've only done weekend sacks or 22" carry-ons - and those fit fine.

A huge bag is likely to fall down and brain someone. Definitely needs to go at the end of the car.

Dukey1 Oct 23rd, 2012 05:53 PM