Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   Kauai in January (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/kauai-in-january-481590/)

soboyle Oct 20th, 2004 06:27 PM

Kauai in January

Hi All,
We are planning our first trip to Hawaii with our 2 year old daughter, we have 15 nights to spend and want to make the most of them, we are gravitating toward a stay on Kauai but are wondering if we want to fit in another island with the time we have, since we are flying into Oahu is it worth a few days there to see the sights? Our ideal vacation is to mix beach/snorkeling time with day outings, short hikes taking in the natural wonders, and since I am a photographer I will be spending a fair amount of time shooting the landscapes and scenery. Fancy hotels are not a priority, in fact we like smaller places that are more personable and are less expensive. Looking for recommendations for inexpensive accomidation on Kauai, preferably in the $70-90 per night range, a cottage would be perfect with the baby. I have a number of questions about the area, first, what can we expect for weather in mid january? I have heard it can get windy and rough at that time of year, will there still be plenty of opportunities for snorkeling and beach swimming? We are considering the Hanalei area of north Kauai as a place to spend a week, but will the weather cooperate at this time of year for beach time?
Any comments are welcome, since I am just starting to research the trip, I don't really know the right questions yet.

pdxgirl Oct 21st, 2004 07:32 AM

You will have better weather on the south side of kauai in January (Poipu).

auntiemaria Oct 21st, 2004 07:48 AM

Aloha from the north shore of Kaua`i 8-)