Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   Kauai car: convertable, jeep, or sedan? (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/kauai-car-convertable-jeep-or-sedan-154767/)

tim Feb 4th, 2002 10:00 AM

Kauai car: convertable, jeep, or sedan?

I'm arranging my first trip to Hawaii. Heading to Kauai and to Maui. I'm going to rent a car on each island. Because it's my first time, I'm not exactly sure what activities I'll be doing, but I do plan on exploring each island to some degree. <BR><BR>For about $20 more per day then a sedan I can rent a jeep or a convertable. Will I want/need either of these? Will a jeep allow me to access places and do things that I couldn't do without it? Would having a convertable make our experience much nicer?<BR><BR>If anyone has tips on WHERE to rent a car, that would also be great!<BR><BR>I usually just get the cheapest, smallest car that I can find, but this is our honeymoon and I want to make everything very nice! We'll be staying at the Hyatt on Kauai and the Four Seasons on Maui. I think that on Kauai we really want to explore, while on Maui we may use the car more to go to dinner, etc. <BR><BR>Any tips would be much appreciated!

kal Feb 4th, 2002 12:01 PM

tim,<BR>As most Kauai vets here will tell you, get the rag top!<BR><BR>Not much legal off-roading, even to Polihale.<BR><BR>A Chrysler Sebring does the trick for us.<BR>Kauai no ka oi and congrats!<BR>Kal

Suzie Feb 4th, 2002 12:20 PM

Or a converible Mustang in bright yellow. Don't worry about lookinglike a tourists, most convertible contian tourists so that bright yellow won't matter. It didn't for us!<BR><BR>Hey Kal, thought you dropped out or something!

kal Feb 4th, 2002 12:55 PM