Chicago hotels, Conrad, Drake, Hilton or Marriott

Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 25th, 2011, 05:23 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have Hilton and Marriott points which will allow me a no charge stay at any of the following. Conrad, Drake, Hilton or any Marriott hotel. Which should I pick. This is my first time to Chicago. I want to be close to the excitement of the city. Also what would you say are the must sees. Once again. Thank you fodorites for your help.
Old Apr 25th, 2011, 05:56 AM

All of those have hotels on Michigan Ave., in the heart of the city, but it's a big boulevard. What kinds of sites are you planning to visit? What are your interests? If you are into shopping, you will want to be north of Wacker in the Water Tower Place area. If you want to spend several days at the Art Insitutue, history & other musuems I would suggest Hilton on S. Michigan avenue. Also, will you be flying or driving or need access to your car? Parking is horrendously expensive in the city, the best deal is at Grant St. parking lot, on S. Michigan Ave.

Post back with your other plans and we can help you decide.
Old Apr 25th, 2011, 06:27 AM
Original Poster

We are going to a wedding and staying at the JW Marriott from July 1 to July 4th. We wanted to come in a 3 days earlier or later stay on Michigan Ave. and see Chicago. I am from New York City so I am comfortable in a big see atmosphere. I would like to tour the city, see a musuem that represents Chicago. Walk down the magnificent mile. I have most of the stores in NY so I just want to feel the flavor of the city. What do you suggest?
Old Apr 25th, 2011, 06:27 AM
Original Poster