Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   Is Homer worth going to if we don't fish? (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/is-homer-worth-going-to-if-we-dont-fish-325343/)

lila5583 Jun 8th, 2003 02:14 PM

Is Homer worth going to if we don't fish?

Is it really worth driving to Homer from Seward or Anchorage? Whats the best thing if we are not interested in fishing? What else is there to do?
Is there a good place to stay?

Jon_Eric Jun 8th, 2003 03:09 PM

I'm no Alaska expert, but every person I have ever known who's been to Homer were fisherman and went for that reason.

dwooddon Jun 8th, 2003 04:20 PM

I'm not a fisherman and have completely enjoyed my two visits to Homer. The scenery is magnificent, there are small villages on the lower peninsula to visit by water taxi, air, or marine ferry. I really enjoyed driving through the back country around Homer, visiting the tiny Russian villages with their unique churches. I have never been able to pick between Seward and Homer so I've gone both places both times.

Dottie Jun 8th, 2003 04:31 PM

Hi, We went to Homer last year and didn't fish.The drive to Homer from Seward isn't that scenic,but once you get there the view out across the bay is Breathtaking.

This is a list of what we did.

One day Whale watch tour with Rainbow tours.Saw 40 plus humpback whales up close with many breachings.Amazing day,but you have to time it so you go when the Humpbacks are there. We went in July.

Took a trip to Halibut Cove on a very cute wooden boat called the Danny J.It goes by Gull Island with a lot of birds. Also saw a lot of Otter on this trip.We had a lovely afternoon, I liked this a lot.

You can also take one day Bear viewing trips out of Homer if that is of interest to you.We talked to a couple who did this and were very happy. We did do a trip into see the Bears but ours was out of Anchorage.