Search

February in New Mexico and California

Search this Thread

Old Dec 13th, 2018, 09:43 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
February in New Mexico and California

Hi
I'm a photographer from NYC and wish to go to California for the month of February. I'd like to settle into a few areas and get to know them. I'm a woman traveling alone so it's important to lodge where there's plenty of activity. Love to bike, hike, exercise. It would be nice to find interest groups that I could hook up with. I need to figure out what areas to explore and comfortable lodging for around $150/nite. Suggestions would be most appreciated. Thanks
Old Dec 13th, 2018, 10:07 PM

Received 50 Likes on 7 Posts
California is a BIG place so you need to narrow things down a bit. Feb. can be cold / foggy / rainy in much of northern California so if you want to hike/bike SoCal may fit your needs better. You have posted a few times in the past asking about accommodations in CA- maybe there are some responses to those threads that are helpful.
Old Dec 14th, 2018, 06:40 AM

Received 17 Likes on 4 Posts
Janisj is so right about California. Depending on what your photo style is you can go to Death Valley or Joshua Tree for desert or go to San Francisco for fog on the Golden Gate. There are many great scenic vistas along the coast between San Fransisco and Los Angeles/Long Beach.
You mentioned New Mexico. How about going to Albuquerque and going to the top of Scandia on the chair lift? There are great photo ops in and around White Sands NM.
For an Amtrak adventure, you could take the Lake Shore Limited overnight to Chicago and then the Southwest Chief from Chicago to Albuquerque (about 26 hours). You would have about 5 hours in Chicago in daylight for some great photos there.
From an Amtrak train you see so much more scenery than when you fly over it.
Old Dec 14th, 2018, 07:13 AM
Original Poster

Amtrak is an interesting idea. I will look into it.