Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   How to get upgraded? (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/how-to-get-upgraded-462217/)

vvv352 Jul 24th, 2004 09:34 PM

How to get upgraded?

I am a novice traveler and want to ask the professional travelers out there about some of there tips and tricks on how to get upgraded? For example, how to get upgraded from coach to first class? And, when checking into a hotel, how do you get a room upgrade? As a novice, I hear that the pros get upgrades all of the time. Thanks to all who are willing to share their secrets! Victor

rkkwan Jul 24th, 2004 10:22 PM

If you're talking about domestic flying, then your only chance of upgrade is to have "elite" status with an airline, by flying at least 25,000 miles with qualified fares with them in a calendar year. Very little chance of international upgrade. The other way is to choose very full flights to book, which the airline is likely to overbook, and then go to the airport early and put your name down in the front for being bumped onto another flight. They MAY give you a first class seat on the other flight, but not necessarily.

For hotels, it's a lot easier. Sign up for the hotel's "frequent stay" program and you may already get better rooms (or at least higher floors). Then ask at check-in.

rkkwan Jul 24th, 2004 10:25 PM

BTW, some airlines automatically give you domestic first class upgrade if you buy a full-fare economy seat. But of coures, that full-fare Y ticket probably cost as much, if not more, than a domestic first class seat already.

vacationdreamer Jul 25th, 2004 05:04 AM

I have two upgrade stories - one successful, the other not - neither one of which is helpful as a guide for the future :