Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

How to experience the Amish near Philadelphia?

Search

Search this Thread

Old May 31st, 2007, 08:12 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am looking to explore the region near Philadelphia, specifically relating to the Amish. I'm a landscape photographer/world traveler in search of memorable scenary, viewpoints, nature, the outdoors, cuisine, architecture, and anything else unique, mysterious or original to the local area. What are your personal recommendations (that you've experienced & can vouch for)? Please excluse tourist traps, ripoffs, and overrated attractions. Thx!
Old May 31st, 2007, 08:28 AM

This area was the first place my now husband took me for a day trip when I met him after moving to the Wash DC 'burbs years ago. Funny the post should come up now as I was just there (2 hour plus drive one way) 2 weeks ago to have dinner with some friends at my favorite restaurant (see below).

I would start by ordering the autotape tour. You should be able to find it via a websearch tool. Listen to it before you leave home. That will give you some of the history. It will also let you isolate some places you would definitely like to drive to. Then I would just drive around the area.

Certain days are unique to the Amish culture. I belive Monday is 'wash' day when you will see clothes hung on lines behind houses and swaying in the breeze. Friday and Saturday (I believe) are the farmers' market days. Sunday is a good day to observe the family filled carts as they go to church services in homes. Sunday afternoon is a good time to catch the children in their pony carts enjoying some free time. By children, I also mean teenagers.

Lancaster (actually the area just east of Lancaster where the outlet shops are) is not a mecca for the Amish. You will find them more in the Intercourse area and a bit off the beaten path.