this June. (it's my first time there)
I'm going with some friends, and we will
be doing the typical touristy sightseeing,
as well as the not so touristy!

Thank you!
Anne

Old Apr 12th, 2002, 09:08 AM
lindy

Remember what Mark Twain said...the coldest winter I ever felt was summer in San Francisco!!! This month can be misty, foggy, terribly romantic and mysterious, but damp and dark. Be sure to bring some layers so you can put on and off as needed. Don't worry though, you will certainly pop over to Napa for a day where it is going to be very very hot and you will take pleasure in going into the cool wine caves to get away from the blazing sun.

Old Apr 12th, 2002, 09:25 AM
SFgal

Welcome to SF, Anne. Lindy's info is right on. The Bay Area is unusual weather-wise, in that there're many micro climates in the area. The temp can be in the 50s and 60s in SF and in the 80's and 90s in surrounding areas. It has to do with the gradient between the inland heat and seaside coolness pulling cold air in through the Golden Gate. So bring layers and you'll be fine, or you can "shop till you drop" for anything you need here.

Old Apr 12th, 2002, 11:22 AM
Sam Clemens

Anne,

Not to criticize lindy, but what I actually said was, "The coldest summer I ever spent was a winter I spent in San Francisco". I had another one about San Fran that I thought was a real corker but, somehow, never caught on. It went like this: " The best rump-roast I ever had was a lasagna I ate in San Francisco". You can quote me.

Sam (I am)

Old Apr 12th, 2002, 12:54 PM
gail

We were in SF for 7/4. Nearly froze to death waiting to see fireworks. Bring layers. 2 days later we were all wearing shorts and sitting at PacBell Park at a baseball game.

Old Apr 12th, 2002, 07:02 PM
AJ