Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

Dallas Shoppers, I need your advice on a Mall to visit for business purposes.

Old Oct 1st, 2003, 08:43 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm planning a trip to Dallas for the day after Thanksgiving in order to get some real time info on the start of the Christmas shopping season. (I'm a research analyst who follows retailers.)

I'm planning on hitting the Stonebriar Mall in Frisco, the Galleria (I know where it is even if I don't remember the name of the highway it is near!) and 1 other Mall.

Can anyone suggest a good 3rd option for a middle level or high end mall in the Dallas-Metroplex?

Thanks ahead of time for your advice. (BTW, in case you're curious, I'm picking Dallas because when it comes to retail, Dallas is thought to be good microcosm of the rest of the country. That's why almost every supermarket chain of their and most new retail concepts hit that market first. So keep spending and helping America!)
Old Oct 1st, 2003, 09:04 AM

When I visit, I hit VistaRidge Mall,Lewisville...right on the I35...my friends that I visit there laugh and tell me NOT to go on the weekend cuz all the "country folk" come in then!!
Old Oct 1st, 2003, 09:04 AM

Very interesting.
I have lived here my entire life and that explains a lot! We had the first Super Wal-Mart about 14 years ago... it was called HyperMart!
A block from the Galleria is an active mall called Valley View. It has all the standard mall stores. Some of the chains stores are the largest in the area. It is extremely busy with a predominatly minority market.
Collin Creek, NE of the Galleria, is a standard suburb mall in a crossroads area. One side of the highway is upwardly mobile and the other side is mostly minority and lower income.