Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

How are some of you getting the Renassiance Downtown Cleveland for 55 a night on priceline?

Search

How are some of you getting the Renassiance Downtown Cleveland for 55 a night on priceline?

Search this Thread

Old Jul 25th, 2003, 06:36 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

How do you know that it won't give you some other hotel? I've never used priceline before, but I really want to stay at the Renaissance...
Old Jul 25th, 2003, 06:44 AM

If you really want to stay at the rtenaissance you nust book directly through them or through some other means that guarantees that you'll be staying there. I just stayed at the Atlanta Airport Renaissance - we paid $41 per night plus the PL fees and taxes. Best direct booking price through the Renaissance website was $89.95 weekend special. Expect a simlar disparity in Cleveland but the whole resaon PL is cheap is because it's a crapshoot.

In August 2002 I stayed in Seattle downtown and got the Elliott Grand Hyatt (which everyone was getting for a 4* hotel downtown at that time - it was a new Hyatt and was having occupancy issues during its first year). I bid 4* for Seattle again this past Spring and really hoped for the Hyatt. I got the Vintage Park instead - oh well. It turned out to be a delightful small hotel with a great staff and spacious, comfy rooms. It's hard to go wrong with a 4* hotel on PL unless you're incredibly picky about your lodgings.
Old Jul 25th, 2003, 07:24 AM

There were some posts about this if you do a quick search. I think the girl's name was Wendy and she put in downtown 4* and got the Renaissance. She told someone else to do it and they got it also for $55. Of course, there are no guarantees on Priceline. Good luck. Let us know if you get it.
Old Jul 25th, 2003, 06:29 PM