Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   Help with Snorkeling (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/help-with-snorkeling-532077/)

meowm99 May 26th, 2005 10:22 PM

Help with Snorkeling

Going to Oahu on Saturday. Hubby wants to take our 2 years old to Hanauma Bay for snorkeling. I have never done snorkeling before and got two concenrs:

1) What can a 2 years old do at Hanauma Bay?

2) I can't wear contacts, and I am blind without glasses. Is there a special type of snorkeling mask I can get there so I can keep my glasses on?

Thanks in advance.

Melissa5 May 26th, 2005 11:48 PM

I can't wear contact either...except for snorkeling! Normally my eyes are just too dry and contacts irritate them, and I also have astigmatism. But I had my eye doc prescribe some disposable contact lenses and I found that in the water, there is just enough humidity, even wearing your mask, that your eyes are feeling very comfortable with the contacts in. When I'm done swimming I just take them out. I got disposables that last about 2 weeks. I didn't want them too thin because then they are hard to hold on your fingertips, but I wanted them comfty. Worked great!

Also there are snorkeling masks with prescription lenses. But I don't know if you can rent them or not. Of course they wouldn't be your exact prescription, but I think you might be able to rent them. Or you could have some made for you. But I didn't want to wear a mask that somebody else had already used!

Melissa5 May 26th, 2005 11:50 PM

Also my husband takes a broken old pair of glasses and somehow wedges them on inside his mask, but it leaves marks on his face and isn't very comfortable. I think he might use them without the temples, inside his mask. He regretted not getting the disposable contacts, as I had them and I was fine. (I only wear them for snorkeling, nowhere else!)