Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   HELP NEEDED -NorCal Ten Year Wedding Anniversary (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/help-needed-norcal-ten-year-wedding-anniversary-871569/)

cwinar Jan 1st, 2011 08:25 PM

HELP NEEDED -NorCal Ten Year Wedding Anniversary

Attention all NorCal experts, your advice is needed:

I plan to surprise my wife for our 10 year wedding anniversary with a 5-6 day trip to Northern California during the middle of July 2011 and I have limited knowledge of the area. I have only spent one night outside of Napa. I also spent a portion of the day in Sonoma. We don't plan to spend more than one night in San Francisco, which will most likely be our final night in California. We are from the midwest, so spending time at the ocean is vital! With that said, I hope to make this more than a beach vacation.

Some trip details...
I will be completing a conference outside of San Francisco during the 8th of July. I plan to pick her up at the airport in SanFran on July 9th. She will be accompanied with our good friends who we most recently helped celebrate their ten year anniversary in Key West, FL. Both couples are seasoned travelers with little to our agenda but quality food and accommodations, great sights and a relaxed itinerary. We will return home on July 15th. We are on a moderate budget as three of the four adults are secondary school educators.

I am beging to investigate the possibilities. A couple musts for us:

1. We must spend sometime in either Napa or Sonoma enjoying the wine, food and surroundings. (1 day and night) Any suggestions on food, cultural attractions, etc?

2. We must eventually get to the coast with a night or two at a B&B on the coast. Any suggestions regarding towns to stop and explore, a driving route, places to stop for culture, food, scenic views, etc would be much appreciated.