Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   hawaii on a REAL shoestring (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/hawaii-on-a-real-shoestring-490957/)

atjaden Dec 15th, 2004 10:02 AM

hawaii on a REAL shoestring

HI I am a Disabled Veteran with 11 & 13 year old girls who want to go to hawaii. I want to fufill this dream for them, and stay under $4000.00. I know it may not happen, but any help would be appreciated. I am seeking real info on the best deals....I can get the flights down to around 2,300.00 on united escapes,(feb 2-9) with a rental car, but that is going to Honolulu and they really want to see the erupting volcano. I found we can stay on base in the Volcano Natl Park ($90), and they will provide transfer to and from Hilo airport....can anyone give us the best ideas here on what to do? I am seeking a good vacation, not a perfect one, we dont mind spending time alone, but there seem SOOOOO many activities, how does one really pick the best value? Is the entertainment 2004 (05) book really worth the $30? Are the coupons available at hotels, etc? thanks so much! I really appreciate the help....

Meesthare Dec 15th, 2004 10:19 AM

I'd suggest you have a look at the "visiting the Big Island" forum at www.konaweb.com. People there might have some really good suggestions. One useful thing to know is that all coastline in Hawaii is public, so any beach is accessible to anybody who wants to go there. I think it's manageable within your budget.

Intrepid1 Dec 15th, 2004 10:19 AM

Are you eligible to stay at the Hale Koa on Waikiki what with your disabled vet ststus?

Lex1 Dec 15th, 2004 10:22 AM