Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

has anyone every stayed at the Hyatt in Scottsdale?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 25th, 2001, 05:52 PM
caitlin

It's a little random, but I'm wondering if anyone out there has stayed at the Hyatt Resort in Scottsdale. It looks nice on the internet, but you never know.
Would this place be suitable for a honeymoon? Would it be too frickin' hot in August? Would there be fun things to do there?
Thanks!

Old Apr 25th, 2001, 06:11 PM
Carrie

Frickin' hot in August? That's actually an understatement. As a resident I can tell you that you can easily sustain burns just getting into your car and touching metal objects or grabbing a plastic steering wheel on sunny 118 degree days. Oh yeah, it's hot. (But it's a dry heat).
The Hyatt Gainey Ranch is, according to my rank list, about the 7th best resort in the metro area...an area with some of North America's best resorts. Yes, it's a nice place. Rooms are pretty typical Hyatt calibre rooms...not opulent by any means, but nice. The public areas at the Hyatt are its real attraction. They are very, very beautiful. The pools and golf course views are really special. Sunday brunch is very good.
Why did you choose the Hyatt in particular?
Fun things to do in Phoenix, you mean? A city of nearly 3 million people? Well, yes. But Arizona's greatest attractions are outdoors beyond the metro area.
Have you ever considered getting married at Enchantment in Sedona? We got engaged there about 13 years ago. The whole area is pretty amazing...spectacular. Search this forum for Sedona info and you'll find loads of it. Good luck.

Old Apr 25th, 2001, 06:42 PM
vicki