Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   Hana accomodations, especially Hana Hale Malamalama - opinions/advice please (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/hana-accomodations-especially-hana-hale-malamalama-opinions-advice-please-208598/)

Fi Jan 26th, 2003 05:01 PM

Hana accomodations, especially Hana Hale Malamalama - opinions/advice please
 
Has anybody stayed at Hana Hale Malamalama? It looks really nice on the website, but can't find much in the way of unbiased opinion about it. Does anyone know what any of the individual accomodations are like? I'd also be interested to hear views on Hale Waikoloa and Ekena Jasmine, if anybody has any expreience of these. Thanks very much!

joan Jan 28th, 2003 04:59 AM

Fi, Maui Revealed praises the Treehouse Suite and the Royal suite there. They're also one of the few Hana accommodations with a one night minimum. We stayed at a very romantic home, the Hamoa Bay House, which I highly recommend, however it has a 3 night minimum. Here's the URL:<BR><BR>http://www.hamoabay.com/<BR>

ukfiona Jan 30th, 2003 07:42 AM

Thanks, Joan. I have just finally received my copy of Maui Revealed from amazon. I actually e-mailed Malamalama 2 days ago for a reservation and have not yet heard back - not overly impressed so far (though 12 hour time difference can't help.) Will look elswhere on principle if they can't be bothered to respond soon.

Maggi Jan 30th, 2003 01:09 PM

Hi Fi! :-) <BR>Joan and I are always posting information about our rentals in Hana, we both liked ours so much. We stayed at the Hamoa Beach House, which would probably be too big for you (sleeps 10), but while we were there I made note of a very well kept up and nicely furnished cottage right across the small road from Hamoa Beach. Sometimes places look better in person than on the website, and vice versa. A perfect spot to see the moon rise over the ocean. Hamoa Beach is dreamy, within 2 minutes of your front door. The website is: http://www.hanaoceanfrontcottages.com/cottage.htm

ukfiona Jan 31st, 2003 04:22 PM

Thanks, Maggi &amp; Joan. I read all the good postings about Hamoa Bay House, but there are only two of us so that will be a bit big! I'll take another look at the cottages - I did come across them and wasn't inspired but as you say, it's so hard to tell from pictures and descriptions (which is the beauty of this forum!).

joan Jan 31st, 2003 07:50 PM

Hi Maggi!<BR><BR>Fiona, just wanted you to know that Hamoa Bay House also has a second stilt cottage (the &quot;bungalow) that is smaller, less expensive. We tried to book that (and it looked adorable) but it was not available, and so we took the larger house...

MIG Feb 4th, 2003 05:41 PM

I've stayed at the Hamoa Bay Bungalow - it was very, very nice for a couple. Definitely off the beaten path. Remote, private, and beautiful.

ukfiona Feb 5th, 2003 02:40 PM

Sadly, Hamoa Bay was booked (both properties). I finally got a reply from Malamalama after a week, with no apology for the delay and the fact I'd e-mailed them twice. By then I had booked elsewhere - at Hale Heavenly Hana. Looks good on the website.... Thanks for the help, everyone.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:20 AM.