Gulf coast areas in central Florida

Old Mar 13th, 2017, 10:53 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Gulf coast areas in central Florida

Hello: I have no travel experience in the gulf areas of Florida. Thought of traveling from NY this April( week before Easter). I have been looking into the areas of Clearwater, St. Petersburg and Sarasota. Of these areas is there one that stands out as a preferred family destination? My friend suggested Siesta Key, but it looks like this area is drivable from any of the surrounding areas. Also I saw on the forums mention of the red tide. Is this currently a serious problem? My daughter has asthma. I am open to suggestions and not set just on the areas I mentioned.
Thank you for your time and opinions.
Old Mar 13th, 2017, 11:06 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Exactly HOW do you define the term "Family Destination?"
Old Mar 13th, 2017, 11:12 AM

Both Clearwater and St. Petersburg are family-friendly and fairly close to Central Florida. Sarasota is farther away.

Here is a link to check red tide status; looks like it is worse down toward Sarasota:

http://myfwc.com/REDTIDESTATUS
Old Mar 13th, 2017, 11:17 AM

Sarasota is beautiful; Clearwater is more for families with younger (5-15) children. St. Pete also nice but the downtown is quite a drive from most of the hotels on the beach.

Red tide is occasionally a factor. Last spring I was just north of St. Pete for a week, and as soon as my friend and I walked in front of the condos onto the beach, the throat started to tickle and we started coughing. Loads of dead tiny fish along the beaches. If your daughter has asthma, of course, it was be exacerbated. You can probably pick up the weather websites for the beaches, but no way to know if in a month it'd be a problem.