Go Back  Fodor's Forum > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page > Gift Certificates - Great Deal or Ripoff?
Notices

Gift Certificates - Great Deal or Ripoff?

Jan 3rd, 2010, 12:57 AM
Original Poster

Gift Certificates - Great Deal or Ripoff?

Happy New Year Everyone,

My wife and I are coming to Chicago in a few weeks and aside from the bitter cold, it is my first time, so I am excited.

My wife usually does all the planning. But this time, she did something I am not too sure about... She bought some Chicago "Gift Certificate bundle" from the travel agent.

In a nutshell, it is a book of twenty (20) gift certificates all worth $25 each... so the "total value" is $500. The travel agent sold it to my wife for $150, telling her what a "steal" it was.

My wife obviously thought it was a deal and bought it much to my chagrin. The certificates are for restaurants, shops, attractions, etc. in Chicago

Anyway... did my wife get a deal or get ripped off? Are these just glorified coupons with strings attached? Or are we truly getting $500 worth (cash value) of gift certificates?

They seem legit, and I trust our travel agent (somewhat)... but I want to make sure before we go to Chicago. If anyone has purchased anything similar and can share some insight, I would really appreciate it!

Thanks a million!

-Joe
Jan 3rd, 2010, 06:36 AM
J62

I truly doubt you're getting $500 worth (cash value) gift certificates. It sounds like 20 different places you'd need to patronize.

I don't know about the Chicago bundle, you've purchased but it sounds similar to the ubiquitous Entertainment books that local groups sell as a fund raiser. Those coupons are often buy one - get one free deals, or $10 off your bill of $50, etc. A good deal if you actually want to patronize the store or restaurant, but a waste if you don't.