Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   From Editor William Travis (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/from-editor-william-travis-500714/)

travis6565 Feb 2nd, 2005 05:34 PM

From Editor William Travis

Greetings!

Allow me to introduce myself: I’m William Travis, an editor on the book-side of Fodor’s. As you probably read from Doug Stallings, I’m one of the many book editors who come on line from time to time to see what’s going on and give my opinions when I can. So here’s where I’m at:

1. I've been a book editor for Fodor's for almost 5 years. Like Doug, I don’t handle the programming of the Web site; I just participate from time to time.

2. I’m the New York City editor, which means I can help guide those of you who are just getting familiar with the city or are interested in visiting. I live here, and I love it. But I can’t take all the credit, because all of my colleagues live here, and each one brings new discoveries and nuances to our ever-growing knowledge of the city. I, as the NYC editor, sort of serve as a conduit for all this information. In other words, if I don’t know it, I most likely know someone who does. We share what we know.

3. I’m a city person, through and through. Although I enjoy getting out of the city from time to time, I’m insatiable when it comes to restaurants, clubs, museums, and the energy of a city.

4. As a father of a 4-year-old daughter, I’ve done a bit of family travel. I edited the FYI: Travel with your Baby book, which gives great insight of how to travel with the under 5 set.

Maggi Feb 2nd, 2005 06:06 PM

Welcome, William. I look forward to your take on New York.