Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   East coast ....Bump skiing (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/east-coast-bump-skiing-762468/)

screen_name Jan 20th, 2009 09:20 AM

East coast ....Bump skiing

What east coast ski areas have moguls on green and/or blue trails?

While I am generally a black diamond skiier...I am just learning to ski moguls and want to start out on gentler slopes. Many ski areas only have them on expert trails.

I am in NJ and can go anywhere in NY, Vermont, PA for a long weekend.

thank you for your help!

MarieF Jan 20th, 2009 10:14 AM

You are not likely to find many bumps on green trails anywhere that I know of in VT or NH. Also, I've been to Killington in some winters where the bumps were bigger on blue trails than on some of the blacks. Bumps are basically a function of how much snow an area gets and how the area is groomed. Hence, the area will groom the greens pretty well and the blues/blacks not so much, depending on the conditions. For overall variety of learning terrain, I would suggest Killington but please, take a lesson on how to ski bumps (if you haven't already) and don't, for your sake and others, get out on a trail that you are not prepared to ski.

screen_name Jan 20th, 2009 10:52 AM

Yes, I am currently taking bump lessons but I need a better place to practice & build confidence.

I can remember a few years back when Killington had record snow and there were these delightfully easy bumps up in the Glades near the South Ridge Triple chair, I think.

I was hoping someone knew about some bump trails like that.

MarieF Jan 20th, 2009 11:14 AM

Sorry, I didn't intend to sound so strident about taking a lesson! It's a pet peeve of mine about people getting on bump trails when they aren't ready to ski them.