Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   Driving from LA to San Fran (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/driving-from-la-to-san-fran-1124824/)

dobrien Aug 15th, 2016 05:16 PM

Driving from LA to San Fran

I am taking my granddaughter on a trip. Her and I are flying into Burbank from NY on Saturday, Sept. 10th, renting a car and driving up the coast to San Francisco. 1 night in LA, then driving to Santa Barbara on Sunday afternoon. Our stops are: night 1 LA - drive to Santa Barbara for 1 night, drive to San Luis Obispo fo1 night to Monterey for 2 nights, then to San Fran for 2 nights.

My questions are many: Being that I am an amateur traveler, is this a doable and realistic trip? I sure hope so since everything is paid for. What suggestions would be most helpful for us? Best route of travel most the best views and best times for travel would be really helpful. Thanks so much.

happytrailstoyou Aug 15th, 2016 07:05 PM

This is a leisurely and doable itinerary. There isn't much to say about the routing except to stay on Highway 1. There will be lots of views, and the best ones are the views that appeal to you most.

HTtY

kleroux Aug 15th, 2016 07:56 PM

I think you are allowing way too much time between stops. What is in Santa Barbara that is worth a night stop? How old is your granddaughter. If you are visiting college campuses I can maybe see it, otherwise press on to San Luis and cancel the Santa Barbara hotel.
San Luis has an interesting California Mission and Cal Poly College. Then you can drive up the coast on #1. which is beautiful. If she were in her teens your granddaughter might enjoy the Hurst Castle.