Notices

Do You Post Hotel Reviews at Trip Advisor?

Old Mar 19th, 2005, 03:19 AM
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 526
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Do You Post Hotel Reviews at Trip Advisor?

I was reading hotel reviews at TripAdvisor.com and also BiddingForTravel.com. I needed an airport hotel at LAX for an overnight flight layover. Reading the reviews of **** places on Bidding For Travel, I was afraid to even use PriceLine.com to bid for the LAX area. Many 4-star places had musty rooms and moldy shower curtains!

I was not going to take any chances in this case, so I booked online directly with the motel itself, assuring me a clean and decent place.

I relied on Trip Advisor for hotel reviews. Admittedly, I have never taken the time to offer other travelers the same free advice that I received when I needed it. I vouch to change that now!

How about you?
Paul is offline  
Old Mar 19th, 2005, 03:27 AM
  #2  
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,142
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Only it it's negative experience. If a hotel is what it's supposed to be, I never think to post a review.
bardo1 is offline  
Old Mar 19th, 2005, 03:29 AM
  #3  
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 62
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I'm with you ... even though people have different opinions about the same place, for the most part the descriptions and advice you receive on Trip Advisor are pretty accurate. I rely on them so much for choosing lodging that I, too, have posted reviews.
Randa is offline  
Old Mar 19th, 2005, 04:09 AM
  #4  
dcespedes
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Yes, I have. On several occassions we've stayed at hotels (in the States and overseas) that received mixed reviews on Tripadvisor.com but each time the experience turned out to be positive for us so I like to add our two cents. As much as I like to read what other people have to say I never let someone elses opinion be the deciding factor.
 
Old Mar 19th, 2005, 05:18 AM
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 8,137
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Yes, primarily when it is a bad experience. I do rely partially on their reviews..some times I use just a "gut" feeling when choosing...most often it works....sometimes it doesn't.
Judyrem is offline  
Old Mar 19th, 2005, 05:21 AM
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,066
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I only post reviews on Trip Advisor if I stay somewhere that doesn't already have tons of other reviews. Or if it was an extremely good or bad stay.
JeanH is offline  
Old Mar 19th, 2005, 06:08 AM
  #7  
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 110
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I try to post reviews on TripAdvisor, especially if I like the hotel or BnB. I just feel that it is a courtesy since I look to others reviews for help in picking out places to stay.
tlegray is offline  
Old Mar 19th, 2005, 07:05 AM
  #8  
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 5,228
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I try to remember to post on tripadvisor for both hotels and attractions. I also use tripadvisor reviews when making decisions but I find them most helpful when there are alot of posts for a place.

If a hotel only has 5 posts and all of them are glowing I tend to suspect that the posts are frauds. When there are 66 posts about a place with just a few negatives posted I think they tend to ring more true. I also distrust all of the posts that say, "I hated this hotel and checked out but had a really good time at Hotel X down the street, you should try it!"
amwosu is offline  
Old Mar 19th, 2005, 08:54 AM
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 93,921
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I've only posted a couple times on Trip Advisor. Both extremely positive reviews of hotels I love that don't get much attention, I guess since they are smaller, local owned unique 3-star type of places.
suze is offline  
Old Mar 19th, 2005, 08:56 AM
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 93,921
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
That said, I have never actually USED Trip Advisor to find a hotel or make a decision. I pick a hotel I like by word-of-mouth or having seen it in person on a previous trip to the area and book with them directly. Always.
suze is offline  
Old Mar 19th, 2005, 09:30 AM
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 453
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I usually submit hotel reviews, along with photos; but like JeanH, I won't if there already are numerous recent reviews posted (especially if they are in line with my appraisal). I am more inclined to post, if I had a negative experience.
sceneisle is offline  
Old Mar 19th, 2005, 10:00 AM
  #12  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 526
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Interesting responses. Thanks.

suze, I'm with you when it comes to first-hand reviews to be more dependable rather than the postings at a site such as TripAdvisor.

But in my case regarding LAX, I personally know people who have stayed at hotels in the L.A. area, but unfortunately they had no first-hand accounts of airport hotels.

Once here at Fodor's, the Hacienda Hotel - nearby LAX - was recommended as a good night's stay. I went to the hotel's website {www<dot>haciendahotel<dot>com} and it did indeed look like exactly what I wanted. Reports at TripAdvisor, however were not glowing and therefore influenced my decision on where to stay. As did reports of various other hotels at LAX.

Paul is offline  
Old Mar 19th, 2005, 10:10 AM
  #13  
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,966
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I used Tripadvisor.com for hotels before a trip to Mexico and I foiund the reviews to be helpful, when carefully read. Tips such as "The rooms in the back are quiet" and "Beware of some small, dark rooms" were very helpful.

When I returned, I posted reviews of the hotels in which I stayed.
happytrailstoyou is offline  
Old Mar 19th, 2005, 10:11 AM
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 14,634
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I've posted at tripadvisor once regarding a really unpleasant hotel experience.

I use tripadvisor as one data point in researching a place to stay but I'd never use it as the only one. I think if the TA reviews are uniformly negative or positive then that's a pretty reliable data point. You can also usually tell if a really negative review is whiner who wants Ritz treatment at the Days Inn.
obxgirl is offline  
Old Mar 19th, 2005, 10:11 AM
  #15  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 93,921
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Now that's funny... the Hacienda is the only hotel I happen to have experience with near LAX! I attended a high school reunion held there a few years back. Was just there for 1 night but it was fine -LOL.
suze is offline  
Old Mar 19th, 2005, 10:34 AM
  #16  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,777
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I always post a review. I'm a tripadvisor/fodors addict, so feel like I should!
Little_Man is offline  
Old Mar 19th, 2005, 11:13 AM
  #17  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,154
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I post regularly on TripAdvisor and now that photos can be posted, I'm trying to post those, too. I read the reviews of others and while they sometimes have to be taken individually with a grain of salt, they frequently provide a fairly accurate picture when they are taken in context together.
Flyboy is offline  
Old Mar 19th, 2005, 11:35 AM
  #18  
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 14,209
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I always post a review unless one would be completely redundant.
cmcfong is online now  
Old Mar 19th, 2005, 12:30 PM
  #19  
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 480
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I now post reviews and believe the more the merrier, even if they are consistent with reviews already posted.
mscarls is offline  
Old Mar 19th, 2005, 03:01 PM
  #20  
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 71
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Of many hotel properties at which I've stayed, Trip Advisor reviews have consistently been wrong. Most reviews were far more negative than what I've experienced at a particular property. I use Fodor's, Frommer's, and a variety of local guides to choose a property, resources that I have found to be much more reliable than Trip Advisor. Apparently, many people that post to Trip Advisor expect every place they stay to be 100% perfect, which to me is unattainable.
volcam is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

FODOR'S VIDEO