DIA to Estes Park in mid-Feb. 4x4?

Old Dec 6th, 2016, 01:16 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
DIA to Estes Park in mid-Feb. 4x4?

Looking at flying into Denver Airport the middle of February and driving over to Estes Park and RMNP. None of the rental agencies will guarantee a 4x4 rental. Is this something that I will really need? I have little to no experience driving on snow/ice (thanks to growing up in Texas) so I was really looking into it to make it easier for me but it may be completely unnecessary. Any tips are appreciated!
Old Dec 6th, 2016, 02:03 PM

Received 8 Likes on 1 Post
Well, like so many things in life the answer is "it depends". It will depend on what the weather has been in the days/weeks leading up to your trip.

In general it would be nice to have a 4x4, but it's possible all of the main roads will be mostly dry, even if it has snowed recently. Or, there could be two feet of snow. No way to predict.

Limit night driving as much as possible and, day or night, be aware of black ice. This occurs when it warms up during the days after a snowfall, water flows across the road, rapidly freezes at dusk, and there is a thin layer of almost invisible ice on the surface. Not trying to scare you, but the stuff is dangerous.

If you can land a 4x4 then do it (though it does not help with stopping on ice), and good luck in any case.
Old Dec 6th, 2016, 02:07 PM

Received 26 Likes on 4 Posts