Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   D.C. safe and not safe areas hotels? (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/d-c-safe-and-not-safe-areas-hotels-503489/)

gabi37avsfan Feb 13th, 2005 10:11 AM

D.C. safe and not safe areas hotels?

Hi, I'll be visiting D.C. for a few days in March. I'm still trying to decide between law schools and will be taking this opportunity to explore the area around Georgetown and GWU. Can someone tell me which areas of D.C. are the safest to the not so safe? I've heard both schools aren't in the best areas, for example, but I really have no idea.

Also, what is the best place to get deals on hotels? I'm a college student on a budget and not very picky. I mean roaches would be nice to avoid, but other than that... ;-)

Thanks!
:-)

jm67 Feb 13th, 2005 04:29 PM

It really depends on what you are comfortable with, and what your background is. If you come from a very quiet, rural area, the whole city is probably more intense than you are used to.

That said, both Georgetown and GWU are in very safe areas. Occasional street crimes occur in these areas (maybe a bit more often at GWU) but both areas are safe by any urban standard.

JohnWW Feb 13th, 2005 06:50 PM

Both areas are really pretty safe, they are in the city but both in pretty good areas. I would feel safe walking around either, day or night. The Georgetown area has more to do and see, especially at night but is probably a little pricier.

gabi37avsfan Feb 13th, 2005 07:05 PM

Thank you so much. :-)

I'm not a rural girl, just ignorant of D.C. :-) I hail from Cleveland, and had heard of various areas in D.C. that were supposedly safer than others.

If I were to go exploring beyond these areas, any suggestions about places to avoid?

:-)

Thanks so much again!

Cicerone Feb 14th, 2005 01:30 AM