Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   D.C. Itenerary Assistance (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/d-c-itenerary-assistance-429351/)

bradk May 7th, 2004 01:13 PM

D.C. Itenerary Assistance

Since everyone seems to be so helpful with the itinerary planning, I was hoping you all wouldn't mind giving me any impressions/thoughts you may have in terms of what I've already worked out.

Just some background, this is my first time in DC in 18 years (I was 12 at the time), so other than a few vivid memories, I don't have a heck of a lot to go on short of what I've read. I'm going to be there from June 12 through June 18 and my main concern is how realistic my time schedule is (some times are more flexible than others and intentionally don't account for travel time and/or meals) - the last couple of days don't even really have times since the schedules don't appear to be tight. I also intend to work in some of the monuments along the Mall at some point.

SATURDAY 6/12
11:40 - arrive at IAD
12:00-12:00 National Zoo / Snore 'n Roar (confirmed)

SUNDAY 6/13
12:00-9:00 National Zoo / Snore 'n Roar
10:00-10:00 Six Flags America (which I plan on cabbing unless there are other alternatives since rideguide reports no service via metro on sundays)

MONDAY 6/14
10:00-11:00 IMF Center
11:00-12:30 Whitehouse / Visitor Center
12:30-2:30 National Aquarium
2:30-6:30 Museum of Natural History
6:30-9:00 National Archives

TUESDAY 6/15
7:00 - 9:00 Get ticket for BE&P
9:00 - 11:00 Washington Monument / Walkdown Tour (confirmed)
11:00 - 3:30 National Museum of American History
3:30 - 5:00 Bureau of Engraving and Printing (awaiting to hear about availability of VIP tour)
5:00 - 8:00 Holocaust Museum (confirmed)

WEDNESDAY 6/16
10:00 - 11:30 DC Ducks tour
11:30 - 1:00 Postal Museum
1:00 - 2:00 Children's Museum