Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   Could use some help (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/could-use-some-help-641005/)

kithsu Aug 22nd, 2006 06:44 AM

Could use some help

I am traveling with my husband and child (11) to Maui to celebrate my 50th birthday (which is on Dec. 29 - yikes). We are going from Dec. 30 until Jan. 5. My sister and parents are also going. My sister has booked a room at the Westin Kaanapali Resort into which we will be crammed with her. Are there any hotels nearby where I could stay with my family (3 of us) alone, yet be nearby to my sister and parents? BTW this is my first time ever anywhere in Hawaii. It has always been my dream to visit there and now I'm afraid it's turning into a disaster! Can anyone please help?

starrsville Aug 22nd, 2006 06:56 AM

Learn to set some boundaries? Time to start at 50.

Okay, more concrete suggestions.
Go to www.google.com
Enter the address for the Westin - 2365 Kaanapali Pky, Lahaina, HI and choose "maps"
Now, choose "business nearby" and enter "hotel"
Spend some time looking at adjacent hotels, reading reviews and calling to get rates and reservations.

There are a ton of hotels nearby in the busiest section of Maui. Find one and enjoy some time with YOUR family for your birthday - and don't let anyone make you feel guilty about any of it!

kithsu Aug 22nd, 2006 07:10 AM

Thank you Starrsville. I have been looking. I just don't know, having never been there, and reading some other posts, what is worthwhile and what is not. I am guessing you don't have a pushy older sister? LOL

starrsville Aug 22nd, 2006 07:24 AM