Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

Comment on California itinerary, restaurants, sights, activities?

Aug 22nd, 2010, 07:29 PM
Original Poster

We're visiting CA in September for the fifth or so time. We've been to almost all the cities we're visiting, but we love it there, so we don't mind returning, but we'd love suggestions on things to do or places to eat that are outside the norm for tourists. We'd also like feedback on our itinerary. Have we allotted too much time, too little, etc?

Itinerary
Sat. 9/4
Arrive SFO and drive to Calistoga. Wine tasting, hot air balloon ride, visit CIA for lunch?, any interesting small towns we should check out?
Restaurant recs for dinner? I'm a personal chef, so I'm interested in really good quality food, any cuisine, any price range,  can be gourmet and fancy or casual burger joint as long as it's really good food. We love Mexican and can't get authentic at home, so I'd appreciate any recs for that.

Wed. 9/8
Drive to Monterey Bay area, picking up Hwy 1 just south of SFO. Stop in Santa Cruz to check out Redwoods. Take the Oceanside Walking Trail in Pacific Grove. Explore Monterey and Carmel. We've been here a couple times and have done Pebble Beach and Cannery Row. Anything on your "don't miss" list for this area? Restaurants? Stay at Carmel River Inn.

Thursday. 9/9
Go to Point Lobos State Reserve, Pfeiffer Beach, Pfeiffer Big Sur hike to Pfeiffer Falls, Julia Pfeiffer Burns State Park hike to Mcway Falls. We didn't make reservations for this night, preferring to play it by ear and see how far south we end up. Restaurants?

Friday 9/10
Hearst Castle. What else should we do/see on our way down to Morro Bay? Stay at Sundown Inn Morro Bay.

Sat 9/11