Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   Colorado Hot Springs - where to go? (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/colorado-hot-springs-where-to-go-825347/)

Melnq8 Feb 7th, 2010 12:51 AM

Colorado Hot Springs - where to go?

I'll be in CO for a few weeks in April to visit family. I'm a former CO resident, so I know the state pretty well, but I'm not familiar with the various hot springs.

I'm looking for a good place to relax and enjoy the hot springs for a few days, but I can't decide where to go. I'd prefer to avoid large pools (like Glenwood). I'll be based in Colorado Springs, but drive distances aren't an issue (weather providing of course).

I thoroughly enjoyed Ouray a few years back - loved the small outdoor hot tubs at the Box Canyon Lodge surrounded by forest - something similar would be ideal.

Places I'm considering are Mt Princeton (near Buena Vista), Pagosa Springs, and Strawberry Park Hot Springs in Steamboat.

I'd appreciate any feedback on any of these (including lodging) and/or suggestions on others to look into.

martym Feb 7th, 2010 03:52 AM

How about Hot Sulphur Springs--lots of pools of different temperatures-spa services. There is lodging there-tho we have never stayed there. http://www.hotsulphursprings.com/

furledleader Feb 7th, 2010 12:09 PM

I've never soaked at Mt. Princeton, so I can't tell you anything beyond what the website would. I have been to Pagosa Springs and Strawberry Park, but never stayed at their associated accommodations. I have stayed at Hot Sulphur Springs.