Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

Can anyone share memories of Nantucket, what the shops were on Maine Street, in 1975 and 1976? Pictures, to help jog my memory?

Search

Can anyone share memories of Nantucket, what the shops were on Maine Street, in 1975 and 1976? Pictures, to help jog my memory?

Search this Thread

Old Aug 5th, 2008, 09:56 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi.
I am having a heck of a time finding anything relating to what Main Street was like in the years I worked as a summer nanny there in 1975 and 1976. I can not remember what the shops were like.. and I can't find any picture books. I would love to see some pictures of the shops if anyone has any links. I am sure I could visit the Nantucket Historical Association, but thought I'd ask this on this site first. The Penny Patch, I remember, and the old restaurant which was a boat, which was "anchored" along the pier where the Steamship Authority ferry is... and of course The Brotherhood and The Sweet Shop, but aside from Hardy's the hardware store, I don't remember much else. Are there books out there anyone knows about?
Thank you!
Old Aug 6th, 2008, 01:21 PM

I'm gonna have to think about this one but I do clearly remember the ice cream shop with the wonderful large music box that was always playing- do you remember that??
Old Aug 6th, 2008, 01:48 PM
Original Poster

I remember the ice cream shop. It was called The Sweet Shop then I believe.. but I do not remember the big music box!
I can not believe there are no picture books with the shops from that era!
Hope to receive more on this subject!
Thanks!
Old Aug 6th, 2008, 02:30 PM

I own a house on Main Street that I inherited from my grandparents.

I was about six during this time period and I do remember the sweet shop because I used to get ice cream all over the pages of my Pippy Longstocking books.