Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

Buying a Condo in Orange County Florida, anyone know about this area?

Old Mar 17th, 2010, 01:51 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have come across a great deal on a condo and I am thinking about going ahead with it. It's located on Forest City Road zipcode 32810. It's roughly 20mins to Disney (which is a plus as we are planning on renting it for income) but we are not familiar with the area and wanted to know if you guys could help us out? Any tips, info or facts you have would be much appreciated!

Thanks guys
Old Mar 17th, 2010, 02:03 PM

I am a realtor in Orange County. Send me an email at [email protected].

I am very familiar with this area and could give you lots of information.
Old Mar 17th, 2010, 02:39 PM

Research carefully is all I can say. There are complexes in FL that are 90% empty due to the high foreclosure rate. The condo itself may be nice, but if it's in a ghost town... just be careful Good luck!
Old Mar 17th, 2010, 03:07 PM

Nor should you expect to rent it more than 30/40 days a year unless it has a stellar prior rental history which can be verified. Have know more than couple of people who thought there would get a free condo because the rental would pay the mortgage. Most unlikely.
Old Mar 17th, 2010, 03:23 PM

It's a marginal area and definitely much more than 20 minutes to Disney. I would estimate 40-45 minutes.

I think your best bet is to inspect it in person and, by all means, consult a realtor! Don't do this sight unseen.

Old Mar 17th, 2010, 05:48 PM

Yes, definitely consult a realtor. For all of the reasons noted above. This is not something you want to be navigating by yourself.
Old Mar 18th, 2010, 03:54 AM