Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   Best midsized town in America (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/best-midsized-town-in-america-206920/)

Connie Nov 13th, 2001 12:31 PM

Best midsized town in America

Travelers may know best!<BR><BR>I am ready to move away from Chicago and want to live in a city between 10,000 and 100,000 people. I work as a nurse, have no close family and can relocate to almost anyplace. My career allows relocation almost anywhere<BR><BR>I am open to any type of weather.<BR><BR>I am looking for advice from travelers/residents who have been around and know where the best places are.<BR><BR>So my question is: What is the best free- standing non suburban town to live in between 10,000 and 100,000 in the USA?<BR><BR>Here is my criteria:<BR><BR>Lots of college educated, professional people<BR>Progressive people for town of its size<BR>Natural Beauty<BR>Culture <BR>Good shopping<BR>Big City within 150 miles<BR>Good people<BR>Clean tidy neighborhoods<BR><BR>I asked on another internet site and got these responses:<BR><BR>Fort Collins, Co<BR>Tallahassee Florida<BR>Mankato Minnesota<BR>Salem Oregon<BR>Manchester New Hampshire<BR>Burlington, VT<BR>Chapel Hill, NC<BR><BR>Your advice?

ME Nov 13th, 2001 12:35 PM

Not to offend you or anything since I think your question is legit BUT you will attract a large amount of bickering and city-bashing with this and all "which city is best" questions. This thread will eventually degrade to a few posters who will toot their city and bash others and the name calling and mudd slinging will begin. I suggest you do a little reasearch on each city and draw a conclusion for yourself.

travellyn Nov 13th, 2001 12:36 PM

Durango, Colorado is pretty good, but we don't have the shopping, and it's about 200 miles to a big city.

cg Nov 13th, 2001 12:42 PM