Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   Beach Wedding Attire (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/beach-wedding-attire-472888/)

elope2kauai Sep 8th, 2004 10:25 AM

Beach Wedding Attire

My finance and I are getting married later this year at the Hyatt in Kauai and he really wants to wear a nice "casual" light brown suit, or something similar. Does anyone have a good internet site for which we can look at different fashions and styles so we can coordinate our outfits together?

Jayne11159 Sep 8th, 2004 10:33 AM

Congratulations!

I suggest starting with theknot.com. It's a great source for a lot of information including wardrobe.

I am a independent floral contractor in Florida and have done many weddings on the beach. IMO, if it's directly on the beach, he should wear a casual suit, perhaps in a linen or possibly a (Cuban) guayaeberas (shirt) in a silk with dress slacks. If it's indoors, you can go as casual or formal as you wish.

GoTravel Sep 8th, 2004 10:34 AM

Agree with the linen suit.

Diana Sep 8th, 2004 10:45 AM

Just came back from Jamaica, and witnessed a SLEW of beach weddings.

Saw everything from a white bikini with a full train attached to a formal wedding gown.

The ones I saw that I liked the best were a simple ivory or white sheath and a short veil for her, and a pair of linen pants in white or a beige with the legs rolled up around the calves paired with a white or ivory linen shirt for him. No shoes for anyone attending or participating.

I agree with a linen suit if the wedding is after 3:00, otherwise I would go with some permutation of the above - but that's just my opinion.

If the wedding is ON THE BEACH IN THE SAND, that will make a BIG difference what you should select. If it's just on the grounds, but not on the sand, you should go dressier.

elope2kauai Sep 9th, 2004 08:28 AM