Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   Baseball game (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/baseball-game-728565/)

Sailorman Aug 13th, 2007 11:01 AM

Baseball game

We, (Husband & Wife in late 60's), are visiting Chicago next year, probably June, and would like to see a baseball game. We are total novices regarding the game (coming from the UK!) and we don't know how long a game lasts, whether we should see the Cubs or the White Sox, should we book ahead, what are the best seats to enjoy the game & the atmosphere - any help from aficionados of the game would be much appreciated.

dmlove Aug 13th, 2007 11:10 AM

Since you're not a fan of either team, you should see the Cubs, because they have a historic and wonderful stadium (Wrigley Field), generally considered one of the two best old-time stadiums in the US (the other being Fenway Park in Boston). The stadium where the White Sox play is new, but large and not at all intimate or interesting.

Games take anywhere from 2 hours up, with the average being somewhere in the 2-1/2 to 3 hour range.

TwoFatFeet Aug 13th, 2007 11:11 AM

You should see a Cubs game.

Games last between 2 and 3 hours.

Seats depend on your budget and how much you're willing to blow on a game. I personally like sitting the bleachers, but then I like to drink beer with all the other louts out there :)

Really, there isn't a bad seat in Wrigley Field, besides the seats that are blocked by poles and pillars and such. I've never had one of those seats.

china_cat Aug 13th, 2007 11:14 AM

actually, the average game length is more like 3hours these days. I guess National league games (Cubs) are somewhat shorter than American league games (White Sox). But I believe 3:05 is the average. Nobody finishes in 2 hours any more.

I agree with dmlove, given the choice I'd visit the more historic Wrigley Field.