Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   Astoria Oregon experts please (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/astoria-oregon-experts-please-588074/)

BlairLarsen Feb 4th, 2006 05:41 AM

Astoria Oregon experts please

Dear Oregonians,

(I myself being one, albeit my parents moved when I was 4)...

I would love to hear from locals and those in the know, the real scoop on Astoria as a place to live. I read a comment about serious mudslides - but how have those Victorians stood all those years?! For some reason, the town is haunting me and I am planning a trip in April. I am a writer and artist, and I like rain. But I would start by living there 3 mos out of the year.
I live in a big city and am used to big cities like New York, but I'm really tired of it, and raising 2 young children. I can contribute to a small town like that, as I teach Shakespeare and direct theatre.
Who has opinions about this town?

Much appreciated
Blair

bbqboy Feb 4th, 2006 06:31 AM

Hi Blair,
Here's my view, based on 15 years or so of visits-
Astoria got discovered! It was a Cleaveresque town
stuck in time, with downtown department stores
and dime stores, and looking like San Francisco if San Francisco had 20,000 people. Now a new set of folks have arrived and sparked new businesses and
Cafes. All good, I think, allthough it was cool before. Be sure to stop in at Lindstrom's Danish Maid Bakery to get some cookies and bread, and to get the pulse of the town.
You originally were moving to Portland. Decided against that?
We escaped Phoenix and big city life and settled in the Rogue Valley in Southern Oregon in 1989 for it's beautiful setting, Theatre,
http://www.ashlandchamber.com/Page.asp?NavID=296