Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

Anyone Else Probs W/ Continental Baggage Fees?

Old Jan 5th, 2009, 02:16 PM
Original Poster

Long story short....flew from U.S. to Mexico on Continental, no problems. Returning, agent told us our bags (2) each weighed 58lbs and we would have to pay $50 overweight charge per bag. Gave him our credit card. On return home we noticed we had been charged $200 instead of $100. Called Continental and they verified that the charge should have been $50 per bag, not $100 per bag. (We have receipt on Continental tickethead that says we were charged $200 for 2 overweight bags). However, they also state that they have no way of refunding the charge. Huh? They won't credit our card or issue any kind of a refund because "we don't refund baggage fees". Huh? I've talked to 3 "customer care" agents and to 1 "baggage agent" and it's the same story. HELP!
Old Jan 5th, 2009, 02:22 PM
yk

I have no experience dealing with Continental, but last month I had some issues with American Airlines. I tried calling several times and spoke with various agents to no avail. So I ended up contacting them by writing (via an online contact form on their website). The issue was resolved within a few days to my satisfaction.

So my suggestion for you is to do the same, rather than calling again for the 5th time, just go ahead to CO's website and click for the Customer Care section.
http://www.continental.com/web/en-US...r/default.aspx

Alternatively, can you have your CC block and dispute that charge?
Old Jan 5th, 2009, 02:24 PM

Stop talking to agents and talk to managers. Or do as yk suggests and write to them.
Old Jan 5th, 2009, 02:57 PM
Original Poster