Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   Any reviews on Porter House in NYC? (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/any-reviews-on-porter-house-in-nyc-759824/)

emcash Jan 6th, 2009 04:08 AM

Any reviews on Porter House in NYC?
 
A friend recommended the Porter House at the Time Warner for dinner. She hasn't been but heard good things. Wondering if any of you NYers or visitors have had the opportunity to check it out. TIA

padams421 Jan 6th, 2009 07:55 AM

bumping back to the top- I'd like to hear from someone who has been there too.

michelleNYC Jan 6th, 2009 09:47 AM

I strongly recommend PorterHouse. I've held and attended many a client dinner there and always had a great experience. Wonderful food and excellent service. Note that it is quite pricey though.

emcash Jan 14th, 2009 06:29 PM

topping for hopefully more reviews.

emcash Jan 25th, 2009 05:05 PM

padams421- wanted to post about my experience with the Porter House. I was a little worried b/c every time i checked open table, it looked wide open. I thought i would be empty when i go there! But it was packed and happening. It's a nice space- sort of fancy old school steak house. We were seated near the window, so we had some nice sky line views. The food was good to very good-- apps were noting special, but the steak as very good, though it tasted a bit to charred to me-- DH loved it though. The wine list was very expensive-- VERY. The food was also very expensive. DH (a big steak guy) said he would go back. I wouldn't go back after seeing the bill!

emcash Jan 25th, 2009 05:06 PM

Sorry for the typos! Just wanted to add that I'm not stranger to expensive restaurants, but this one was UP THERE.

mclaurie Jan 26th, 2009 04:04 AM

emcash, do you have a favorite steakhouse in NYC?

emcash Jan 26th, 2009 04:09 AM

I'm generally not a big steak house person, but DH is and he's been to them all. His favorite is del frisco's, but he really liked PH the other night.

I'd much rather go to a french restaurant or an italian restaurant or new american... but i do enjoy a good steak and a good bottle of red wine (to be shared of course!).

padams421 Jan 26th, 2009 04:17 AM

Thank you for the feedback.

mclaurie Jan 26th, 2009 04:19 AM

I'm with you.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:17 AM.