Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

Any good eating places around the Grand central station area?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 20th, 2000, 09:23 AM
Gytha

Does anyone know of any good restaurants/cafes in the Grand Central station area? We like Italian or American food but are open to any recommendations. Our price range is between $20-30 (I think, I'm not very good at converting from sterling!). We aren't looking for cheap places (there's plenty of McDonalds for that!) but not too expensive either - just good food, good atmosphere and somewhere you can take a 13 yr old. Oh! and anywhere with good breakfasts? Hopefully fairly near to our hotel because we will be hungry, but we don't mind walking a bit further than the Grand Central station area!

Old Jun 20th, 2000, 11:32 AM
Caitlin

Start with inside GC Terminal. On the lower level, there's a food hall with lots of shops and take-out opposrtunities of all kinds. This is not a mall-style food court; no fast food outlets, etc., but rather, high quality places, including offshoots of some well-known restaurants. The actual restaurants is GC, Michael Jordans and Metrazur, are outside your budget, though.

Old Jun 20th, 2000, 01:03 PM
Frank

If you enjoy super fresh seafood, try the Grand Central Oyster Bar (lower level of GC)...it is slightly above your desired price level but, with careful menu selection you can keep the cost down. It is also a good choice for lunch at its counter area (seafood pan roasts, raw oysters, chowders, fried oysters/clams etc.)

Old Jun 20th, 2000, 02:10 PM
Roger