Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   And again the question is asked-In your opinion, best Niagara Falls Hotel (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/and-again-the-question-is-asked-in-your-opinion-best-niagara-falls-hotel-775426/)

justburg Mar 27th, 2009 05:48 AM

And again the question is asked-In your opinion, best Niagara Falls Hotel
 
Here are our "needs":
• Canadian Side ( I think?-unless you guys feel strongly for the American side)
• Best View from rooms
• While we don't want to spend an arm and a leg, we're willing to pay for a nice room
• We're young-we don't mind walking to attractions, but don't want to have to drive to attractions

Please give me your opinions....are they really all the same when it really comes down to it??

starrs Mar 27th, 2009 06:02 AM

Lots of reviews here -
http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotels-g1...io-Hotels.html

Although, I'd prefer staying in the little town of Niagara-on-the-Lake (and driving to the falls)

cd Mar 27th, 2009 06:11 AM

I recommend Embassy Suites with a fallsview room and their free made to order breakfast. We have stayed here twice and enjoyed the location and the view. http://www.embassysuitesniagara.com/
Next door is the Marriott so if you have a fallsview room your view would be the same as with the Embassy.
Down closer to Clifton Ave is the Sheraton On The Falls. Friends have stayed here with a fallsview room and enjoyed their stay.
IMHO choose a Fallsview room on the Canadian side.

AAFrequentFlyer Mar 27th, 2009 06:11 AM

Sheraton on the Falls would be perfect for what you want.

You need to request a fall view room at the time of booking. Gorgeous views from the rooms.

niagaragal Mar 27th, 2009 08:11 AM

There are lots of good hotels and I would strongly suggest that you stay on the Canadian side as that is where you get the best view of the Falls and almost all the attractions are on the Cdn. side. All hotels mentioned are good - also the Fallsview Casino Resort Hotel has great rooms. Almost all the mainsteam hotels are newer, built when casino gambling was introduced, and I would recommend any of them. There is also a large Doubletree Hotel. With any hotel you must ask for fallsview rooms - but you will pay for it.
As someone mentioned, Niagara on the Lake is a must see and there is a beautiful drive from the Falls to get there. The little town has tons of great B&B's and up scale hotels.
Enjoy your trip!

garyt22 Mar 27th, 2009 08:21 AM

Also check the Oakes Hotel... right next to Fallsview Casino and Embassy Suites with same view...

justburg Mar 27th, 2009 08:55 AM

Hey guys,
This whole Niagara on the Lake thing intrigues me. I'm assuming you then need to drive to the falls? How is parking (lots of lots/expensive) and driving around that area?

starrs Mar 27th, 2009 09:04 AM

Niagara on the Lake is the prettiest little town. Gorgeous. And an easy (pretty) drive to the falls. Park there, walk around and see everything, and then go back to a delightful little village.

It's what I would do. I discovered the town via advice on the boards. I'd much rather stay there than in the touristy stuff around the falls.

nytraveler Mar 27th, 2009 09:05 AM

We stayed at the Sheraton that faces directly out onto the Falls. It has huge picture windows and a cute fake fireplace - so you get really gret views. Don't remember the price - but it was certainly reasonable - and included breakfast (but a buffet so we went elsewhere with fresh food).

cd Mar 27th, 2009 12:33 PM

Niagara on the Lake is a pretty drive and a pretty little town with nothing to do except shopping. I enjoyed an afternoon there, but unless you're going to the Shaw Festival, I found it boring. There are some good restaurants. I guess it all depends on what you like and want to do. I would rather be in the thick of things at Niagara Falls and be able to walk to all the attractions. I don't mind touristy things, it's why I'm there.

meliss_880 Mar 27th, 2009 02:45 PM

I work at a Hampton Inn in Niagara Falls, it's really nice but probably wouldn't meet your standards... it all depends on your price range, if you can afford it, I would suggest the Fallsview Casino Hotel, if not.. try the Hilton, the Sheraton Fallsview or Marriot Fallsview, all are very nice

garyt22 Mar 28th, 2009 07:13 AM

Besides the theatre, Niagara on the Lake is the base of an international center for Wineries.... think Sonoma or Napa... the vineyards are beautiful, the wine tours interesting with over 70 choices and the food is outstanding... there are golf courses, fort tours, jet boats to the Falls rapids, numerous local fruit stands with farm grown produce.... a bike tour to local wineries is a great summer activity...there are also over 100 bed and breakfast lodgings... as cd states, it depends on what your interests are , but its far from boring... unless you choose to sit on a bench in the village... and it may not match the excitement of Clifton Hill with its mini-golf and wax museums!!!

cd Mar 28th, 2009 07:42 AM

I don't care for Clifton Hill and do not find it exciting. Well, once on our honeymoon 48yrs ago :-) and we have done the winery tour once but came back to our Fallsview room for cocktails as we overlooked the lighted Falls. For us when we travel, where we stay and where we eat is all about the view. We also have toured Fort Niagara and Fort Erie and recommend both, Fort Niagara on the United States side being my favorite of the two forts. Actually one can enjoy Niagara Falls, including Goat Island and Niagara on the Lake in one fell swoop. Where to stay is a personal opinion.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:51 AM.