6 days in New York with Kids (12 and 10)

Aug 5th, 2009, 01:51 AM
Original Poster

6 days in New York with Kids (12 and 10)

It is my first time in this forum.
I am Spanish and we are planning a family trip to New York from Sept 1 to Sept 6, 2009.
We have already got accomodation (close to Central Park) and we are now trying to figure out a trip plan. I have been several times in NYC for business but my wife and kids have not.
Any suggestions about what to see, when to see, where to eat, musicals, etc. wil be very usufull.

Thanks in advance and best regards,
Aug 5th, 2009, 07:56 AM

Can you tell us a bit more about your family? Do your kids have any special likes or dislikes? (love museums, hate museums . . . love sports, shopping, science, and so forth)

FYI, The end of your stay is on an big holiday weekend in the U.S.--September 7 is Labor Day, a holiday that signals the end of the summer season.
Aug 5th, 2009, 08:33 AM

Yes, it is Labor Day weekend (September 5-7), but don't be misled. It's actually fairly quiet in the city that weekend. So, that's good news if you want to see a Broadway show, as it will be easier to get tickets to most shows. As for which show to see, there are several that are suitable for your children. One key question: How fluent are they in English?
The American Museum of Natural History should probably be at the top of the museum list for your children.
Aug 5th, 2009, 08:34 AM

Unfortunately for you the Yankees won't be in town, which means you can only see second-tier baseball at Citi Field.

Take them to the Natural History Museum and the Planetarium (they're connected together). That should keep the kids out of trouble for awhile.

The US Open starts August 31, so you should check the draw and try to get tickets. Day sessions and night sessions are sold separately. The night sessions are the liveliest tennis crowds in the game. And I think Nadal will play. If he does, he'll probably get one of the night slots.
Aug 5th, 2009, 11:11 AM