Notices

5 day 4 night Drive of Natchez Trace in June

Old Jun 17th, 2020, 04:17 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
5 day 4 night Drive of Natchez Trace in June

I'm a professor and am out all summer, my mom is retired. So we took the kids on a road trip. It was myself ( mid 30's), mom ( mid 60's) and kids ages 14,13,8. We all like to travel, history, outside space etc.

Day 1. Drove from Central Arkansas to Natchez, Mississippi. Had lunch at the Riverfront park by the gazebo at a picnic table. It was a nice view of the Mississippi River. It started to rain and so our park got cut short. We then went to the Visitor's Center to learn about the area which was informative and a good stop. Then we drove around and just looked at several antebellum homes. We also visited the Forks in the Road monument and I had a brochure about it I read to the kids. That was historically relevant and a good history lesson for us all. It stopped raining. We went to the Natchez National Cemetary and the regular Natchez Cemetary and looked for the Turning Angel. Had dinner at Fat Mama's ( yummy) and dessert at The Malt Shop ( yummy).

Day 2 Natchez- Tupelo. Beautiful Day and we took advantage to do several small hikes, visit the Emerald Mounts ( Native American sacred site) a few old churches, a few pieces of the Old Trace. Picnicked along the way. We saw an alligator in the wild ( which my kids thought was pretty great). Also saw deer, wild turkey and a bald eagle very close up. Did not see another person out of their car at any of the sites we visited. It was like we owned the Trace. Ordered a pizza that night to eat in the room and swam in the hotel pool.