Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   2 weeks in Paradise! DebitNM Hawaii Trip Report part 1 (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/2-weeks-in-paradise-debitnm-hawaii-trip-report-part-1-a-653931/)

DebitNM Oct 19th, 2006 07:29 PM

2 weeks in Paradise! DebitNM Hawaii Trip Report part 1

Part 1 THE BASICS –
I couldn’t decide how to start…there is so much to cover. So I thought I would begin with air, hotels, car rentals in this first part. It’s long! I was a teacher, so I can “talk”!

Airport/Security/Airlines

I packed my 1 quart ziplock baggie with my 3 ounce or less things and that went fine. I also had a prescription medication [a gel in a jar] that was just over 3 ounces and according to TSA guidelines, that should have been no problem. I had it in a separate baggie as the guidelines did not say it had to be part of the other limited gels/liquids.

Of course, the screener had to check with 2 others to be sure it was within guidelines, as it was deemed okay. I couldn’t decide if I should just seal it well and pack it in my checked bags. I worried that if the bag got lost, I would be in trouble. So, putting it in the carry on was the final decision and it all worked out well.

One very important thing I did not realize is that <b> UNEXPOSED </b> film should not be put in checked bags. I found that out after the bags were weighed, tagged and sent on their way. I was really concerned after I read that warning sign…but we were lucky as the pictures came out with only a few having a pink tinge to the side of print.