Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

2 Week Vacation in LA and San Diego. Hotel Advice?

Old Dec 3rd, 2007, 06:18 AM
Original Poster

Dear Fodor Friends,

We are planning an end of year trip to LA (December 19-25) and San Diego (December 25-30) with a final night at the airport before we fly out home December 31.

I haven't been to LA in more than 20 years (when I stayed with friends who were then living in Malibu) so I have no personal experience to draw on.

Are you an Angeleno or frequent LA visitor who would you like to lend some cells brain and help us plan where to stay?

We will have a rental car and want to spend our days doing mostly "cultural" things in LA (Getty Villa, Getty Museum, LA Museum of Art - including the free Friday night Jazz concert), Museum of Television & Radio, Skirball Cultural Center, Griffith Park & Observatory, Pueblo Los Angeles, La Brea, Farmer's Market, Huntington Library & Gardens, Gamble House, Queen Mary, Scorpion Submarine, Seal Beach Wildlife Refuge,)

Things like shopping, (Rodeo Drive, etc.) or visits to Disneyland/Universal Studios don't interest us at all. (We've been to the Disney/Universal versions in Orlando, had a good time, and don't feel the need to repeat the experience.) Lunch will probably be on the fly while we are touring, but we do like a nice dinner.

We were hoping to spend between $100-$150 a night including tax and parking. Any kind of included breakfast would help. A big pool for swimming laps would be great (but probably not an option.) We're not big fans of "hip" "modern" hotels (Their decor always seems cold instead of welcoming and their furniture always seems uncomfortable)

We would love to be in an safe area where there are restaurants or places to enjoy at the end of the day.