Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   2 Day Fall Foliage trip in Oct (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/2-day-fall-foliage-trip-in-oct-994430/)

manishbit Oct 8th, 2013 06:49 AM

2 Day Fall Foliage trip in Oct

Hi All,

I'd like some help in planning a 2 day Fall Foliage trip from Central Jersey to Upstate NY to Vermont to NH and then back.I am a photographer so basically want to cover the BEST possible Scenic routes, click lots of photos in these 2 days. (unfortunately I only have 2 days)

This is what I have in mind, would appreciate if I can get your feedback

Edison, NJ --> Lake George, NY --> cut thru Vermont --> Kancamagus Hwy, NH --> Mt Washington, NH --> Berkshire Mtn region, MA --> Edison, NJ

Thanks,
Manish

nytraveler Oct 8th, 2013 08:52 AM

When are you planning on going? There is already a lot of color in the north - check the foliage web sites.

And that looks like 2 solid days of driving to me.

simpsonc510 Oct 8th, 2013 10:06 AM

Great choice in driving the Kancamagus Hwy!!

J62 Oct 8th, 2013 11:42 AM

Looks like way too much driving to me. I recommend you pick one area and slow down to smell the roses.

There's a lot of color (here) in the north, but a lot of the early brilliant reds and oranges were blown off with the wind & rain of the last few days. Still a lot of green from the later varieties like oak, but you may have already missed the brighter colors.

Two days in the Berkshires would probably be ok still if you go soon. New Hampshire may already be past prime, and that's a long drive from NJ.

Lake George area got hit with the storms, but still good color up there - sugar maples are mostly gone, but still lots of green.

zootsi Oct 8th, 2013 05:00 PM