How do you organize your research and planning?

Old Feb 3rd, 2020, 08:04 AM
Original Poster

How do you organize your research and planning?

Iíd love to hear how you organize your travel research and your trip planning ó two different tasks.

As I read trip reports and guide books I have one notebook - divided by country - that I write notes in, but it quickly got filled up and is unorganized... attractions mixed in with restaurant recommendations, cities noted throughout. Its now a mess and not helpful.

I am relatively new to travel (have done some amazing ďonce overĒ trips to the big cities of Europe, but not the deep dives that so many on this Board seem to do.) As my husband and I start a new phase of life as empty nesters, Iíd like to approach my research and planing in a more thoughtful manner. I hope youíll share your methods. Files folders, notebooks by country, electronic excel spreadsheets?

Thanks in advance! #Europe
Old Feb 3rd, 2020, 08:07 AM

I keep a folder of printed out reservations and bookmark it all on my computer.
Old Feb 3rd, 2020, 09:41 AM

"Files folders, notebooks by country, electronic excel spreadsheets?"

None of the above really

I don't 'organize' much of anything. Not sure why but planning trips just comes naturally for me and I don't need to 'organize' much. When I make bookings I do save the email confirmations/tickets to a folder in my inbox and I print out a hard copy as a back up which I stick in envelopes in my suitcase and discard as the trip progresses.

Only do spreadsheets when I'm taking a group and have to collect money for various things pre-trip. For group trips I do print out calendars and lists to distribute to the others.

For me/my own trips, I just enter activities on my calendar as I make them.

If I don't already know a place well I may read a guide book to get the lay of the land.