Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Travel Tips & Trip Ideas (https://www.fodors.com/community/travel-tips-and-trip-ideas/)
-   -   First Solo Travel...Where should I go? (https://www.fodors.com/community/travel-tips-and-trip-ideas/first-solo-travel-where-should-i-go-1001078/)

harwardcn Dec 27th, 2013 05:14 PM

First Solo Travel...Where should I go?

I'm a college student with a passion for travel, but this year finding a companion is rather difficult. I've researched solo travel for young women a lot and it seems doable, however I cannot figure out where I should go. I have been to London before with family so going abroad won't be completely foreign to me. I am thinking maybe Dublin or Maui but don't know if they are good solo places or beginner places. I will only be going for 4-5 days. Does anyone have any suggestions, thoughts, or advice?

suze Dec 27th, 2013 07:31 PM

That's the great thing about going solo, you can go wherever you want to go!

BUT 4-5 days is a VERY short trip. Where are you starting out from?? (for example, I would not go to Hawaii for only 4 days if you live on the east coast US, but could work if you are on the west coast US). I also would never go all the way to Europe for 4-5 days (but I live in Seattle).

Places I have been solo: Puerto Vallarta, Waikiki, Jamaica, Amsterdam, Paris, Venice...

thursdaysd Dec 27th, 2013 07:37 PM

Four to five days is far too short for Europe, or even South America. How about Canada? Note that with the possible exception of India, there is nowhere you should write off because you're going solo.

suze Dec 28th, 2013 10:26 AM

If you tell us where you are starting from, we can be more helpful. I see your biggest "problem" not as being solo, but as only having 4-5 days to do something.

harwardcn Dec 28th, 2013 10:30 AM

I'm from Charlotte so something closer on the east coast probably is the best option.

suze Dec 28th, 2013 10:38 AM