on my own

Old May 11th, 2007, 05:39 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
on my own

I had planned on a trip to florida. My partner bailed on me, and now I'm alone. I have never done anything alone before. How do I get up the nerve to leave my hotel room? I have never travelled before, so I am really nervous. Do a lot of people do solo travel? Will I look like an idiot?
Old May 11th, 2007, 06:15 PM

You will not look like an idiot. YOu don't have to go around announcing you are alone. Do whatever you would do with another person. Take a book for meals.

Where in Florida?

Old May 11th, 2007, 09:19 PM

You would be amazed at how many people travel solo - and even more amazed that they all survive and the majority enjoy the experience immensely.

As for nerve, do you ever go shopping alone? do you ever go to the movies alone? do you ever eat lunch alone? do you ever take walks alone?

If you said yes to any one of these, then you shouldn't have any problem leaving your hotel room. No one is going to stop and point at you saying "OMG! That person is ALONE!" Think about it, if you are at the mall, do you point out all the people who are by themselves? It will be the same in a vacation place. People are caught up in their own lives and won't give you a second thought. The people you talk to may notice, but 99% of them won't care that you're alone. And the 1% that does are idiots.

If you said no to all of those, try them while you're still at home. If you can't handle it at home, then you're not going to like traveling solo. If you find it's not so bad, then you'll travel solo just fine.
Old May 12th, 2007, 01:23 AM
Original Poster

I'll be going to Orlando. I think I am more afraid of getting lost than anything. Thanks for the replies.
Old May 12th, 2007, 07:49 AM

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
If getting lost is the problem, get a map and study it. Also carry the business card from your hotel and enough for taxi fare. That way you can always get back "home".