Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Travel Tips & Trip Ideas (https://www.fodors.com/community/travel-tips-and-trip-ideas/)
-   -   Best European Destination for Solo Woman (https://www.fodors.com/community/travel-tips-and-trip-ideas/best-european-destination-for-solo-woman-979290/)

Lahlah May 26th, 2013 09:59 PM

Best European Destination for Solo Woman

Hey there!
I'm traveling alone and I'd like to go to Europe in late June. Originally I wanted to visit Florence and Tuscany but I've read a bit on the men being a little more aggressive there than other countries. As this is my first time traveling solo I want to focus more on the sites than on the attention being given to me. So now I'm not sure. Any recommendations on a city in Europe that is open and safe for a virgin-solo traveler getting her toes wet?

Thanks!

sparkchaser May 27th, 2013 01:39 AM

London. No language barrier and you're unlikely to draw the "wrong" sort of attention from the signals you "normally" send out.

No matter where you go, be street-smart and don't do anything foolish like walking about alone at night. That's universal advice.

thursdaysd May 27th, 2013 04:38 AM

Not sure where you read that, but I would say it is very out of date. I have a hard time thinking of a city in Europe that is not safe for a solo woman traveler (provided she doesn't wander down dark, empty alleys at 3:00 in the morning after drinking too much). You will get more answers if you post this on the Europe board.

sparkchaser's advice is extreme, depending on the definition of night. I certainly walk arounf cities on my own after dinner.

sparkchaser May 27th, 2013 04:54 AM

Aye. My advice was extreme but OP didn't exactly give enough information for a better answer. ;)

janisj May 27th, 2013 08:02 AM

I'd re-post over on the Europe forum -- you'll get a LOT more input/suggestions/perspective