Search

5 months South America

Search this Thread

Old Jun 12th, 2013, 08:12 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
5 months South America

Hi fellow travellers!
I am just beginning my planning to South America for 5 months next year and have no idea where to start. I have no idea how much much I will need however have been saving so should have plenty for this trip however am going to Europe after I leave. I aim aiming to come over early Feb and would love to start with Carnivale and finish with the Soccer World Cup but don't plan on staying for the whole thing.
I want to explore Peru, Ecuador, Colombia, Chile, Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Uruguay. I dont want rush through it. I will do a few tours, particularly through the most unsafe places but would like your opinion on this too as at this stage am travelling on my own. I would love to know approx. costs for the whole time, best ways to get around (cheapest & best experience), hostes etc.
Any suggestions would be super helpful
Thank-you!
Old Jun 12th, 2013, 09:20 PM

Some guidebooks would serve you well at this point. They'll give you ideas of places to go and what things will cost. It's difficult to answer such general questions. Big cities will turn out to be a lot more expensive. There'll be a minimum you should spend for lodging in places like Rio, Sao Paulo, and Lima. Anything below probably won't be safe. You'll pay a premium if you want take in big events like Carnival and the World Cup. Lodging prices skyrocket for events like those.
Old Jun 12th, 2013, 09:26 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
As Jeff says, this question is impossible to answer. The costs will be different in each country. They will be different in big cities vs. small ones. They will depend very much on how you chose to sleep and eat and travel - how much (dis)comfort, how many restaurant meals, how much alcohol, planes vs. long distance buses, etc. etc.