Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   South America (https://www.fodors.com/community/south-america/)
-   -   Minimalist option for the "short" Inca Trail trek to Machu Picchu? (https://www.fodors.com/community/south-america/minimalist-option-for-the-short-inca-trail-trek-to-machu-picchu-946543/)

Balto Aug 13th, 2012 10:12 AM

Minimalist option for the "short" Inca Trail trek to Machu Picchu?

I've been hoping for several decades to hike the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu, and it looks like a good possibility for May 2013. Unfortunately my spouse is not all that enthusiastic for a 3-day hike and cold-weather camping. That leaves the so-called 2-day trek from the km-104 railroad stop to Machu Picchu (actually just a day hike, with the night at an Aguas Calientes hotel and the second day touring the ruins) . We have an aversion to tour groups, so we were thinking of doing a private trip - just the two of us with a guide. We also don't really need a tour company to take care of the transportation and hotel for us. That leaves just the 1-day hike on the trail that requires the use of a tour company. We were thinking of spending the previous night in Ollantaytambo rather than Cusco, avoiding a portion of the long early-morning train ride to get to the trail head.

Does anyone have suggestions for an Inca Trail outfit that will do JUST the day hike from km-104, while we take responsibility for everything else?

crellston Aug 13th, 2012 11:41 PM

If you have "an aversion to tour groups" then why not consider an alternative to the usual MP trek where you will encounter many. We trekked from Lares to Ollantaytambo and saw virtually no other groups over the 3 day/2 nights. A link to our blog with details and photos

http://blog.travelpod.com/travel-blo...4700/tpod.html

Within that entry you will find the contact info for our guide Miguel who may be able to help with a shorter trek.